Getting MMS on a Straight Talk iPhone (3GS) Without Jailbreak

UPDATE (6/19/13): The following information was based on using the 2012 Straight Talk SIM program http://www.straighttalksim.com.  Based on some 2013 feedback from another member of my family, it appears that StraightTalk no longer offers an “AT&T” sim.  Instead, StraightTalk sims are (now) using T-Mobile.  The following instructions worked for my wife’s iPhone using the AT&T sim that we received in 2012.  The good news is that the T-Mobile sim card may be configurable easily.

– Original  Post Continues Below –

My wife is a “mac”.  As I have detailed in previous posts, when we started cord/cost-cutting on our monthly landline/mobile/cable/internet bill, she was able to upgrade from a crappy Verizon flip-phone (with no data!) to an unlimited iPhone on Walmart’s Straight Talk service*.  When we changed to Straight Talk, it was not advocating iPhones with their “buy a sim card” program.  However, the new iPhone 3GS worked just fine, with one exception:  the iPhone could not do MMS on Straight Talk because the phone’s APN settings could not be modified for MMS.

Using the iPhone without MMS on Straight Talk was as easy as buying an unlocked iPhone from Apple (AT&T/gsm compatible version), ordering a SIM card from Straight Talk, installing it and then downloading (via Wi-Fi connection on the iPhone) the free APN changer from http://www.unlockit.co.nz .  With this solution, the iPhone has worked perfectly (excluding MMS) on Straight Talk for a full year.

There are other options for getting full functionality including MMS on a Straight Talk iPhone if you are willing to jailbreak your phone, but since we did not want to jailbreak her new iPhone my wife lived without MMS (not a big problem).

But being a tech guy, I continued to monitor the web for other solutions.

With the release of iOS 6.1 it appears there is a new solution for enabling MMS by using a SIM card from another carrier (i.e. T-Mobile) in a “SIM card swap solution” to configure the APN settings.  For $10, I decided to try it.  I ordered a T-Mobile SIM card through Amazon and then walked through the steps on http://www.letsunlockiphone.com/unlock-iphone-straight-talk-without-jailbreak-how-instruction/

While the steps are simple enough, I realized that the instructions were missing one vital piece of information.

IMPORTANT! The SIM swap method allows you to access this configuration screen!  This is the goal and solution! 

Image

The Straight Talk SIM card does not allow you to get to the above screen, and the APN changer tool from unlockit.co.nz cannot configure the MMS settings for you.  This is NOT a jailbreak.  It is just way to get to a configuration screen that is (for some reason) hidden to the Straight Talk SIM card (I wonder if it has changed, now that they have the iPhone?).

The instructions would be much clearer if they just said:  “Buy a SIM from another carrier, use it to open this configuration screen, then while this screen is still open on your iPhone, hot-swap your Straight Talk SIM back in and enter the Straight Talk APN settings.”  Unfortunately, they don’t tell you that, nor do they provide you the correct APN settings.

In case you don’t have them, here they are:

Cellular Data
APN: att.mvno
Username:
Password:
MMS
APN: att.mvno
Username:
Password:
MMSC: http://mmsc.cingular.com
MMS Proxy: 66.209.11.33:80 or mms2.tracfone.com:80
MMS Max Size: 1048576
MMS UA Prof URL: http://www.apple.com/mms/uaprof.rdf
Internet Tethering
APN:<blank, remove ‘phone’>
Username:
Password:
That is it.  With the information above and a SIM card from T-Mobile, I was able to get MMS working on my wife’s unlocked iPhone 3GS using Straight Talk.
Full disclosure: She couldn’t care less. :)
Further disclosure: As the instructions on other websites mention, you may need to repeat the steps when you update iOS on your iPhone. 
* caveat: if/when Ting.com supports the iPhone, we will probably switch to them — why pay a monthly flat fee to any carrier? Ting let’s you pay for what you use as a family and NOTHING more! The other big difference between Ting and Straight Talk is that you need to accept Sprint’s network rather than AT&T’s.
This entry was posted in Things That Annoy Me! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Getting MMS on a Straight Talk iPhone (3GS) Without Jailbreak

  1. Mondo says:

    Okay I was wondering I have an at&t iPhone not unlocked or jail broken I got my straight talk sim card yesterday and got it all working except the MMS could I use a tmoible sim card to bring the hidden cellular data menu up or could I use my at&t sim card to do it?

  2. My 3g was jailbroken and bricked. I had to mess with so much to get it to work. I can’t update im running 4.2.1 and att&t carrier9.0. Would a sim swap work for me? I all of a sudden have no cellular data.

    • Erica, I am by no means an Apple genius. Rather, I am just a StraightTalk customer who wouldn’t accept the fact that my wife’s phone couldn’t have MMS. The only info I have is the instructions I provided about the sim-swap method for getting MMS without jailbreak.

  3. tara says:

    I’ve been trying to do this for my friends phone. It won’t work. I bought the tmobile card and it won’t work. I’m going crazy.

    • Hi Tara,

      Unfortunately, I wish I could help more. My experience back in April was a success with the following factors:

      1.) Unlocked iPhone 3GS (GSM/AT&T Compatible)
      2.) Straight Talk sim card (AT&T-flavor)
      3.) T-Mobile Sim from Amazon for swapping.

      With these pieces, the sim-swap solution worked.

      However, over the summer my father tried Straight Talk only to discover that they had started supplying T-Mobile sims instead of AT&T. Obviously, this would alter the solution (if needed). My father did not keep Straight Talk because the T-Mobile network did not offer the coverage he needed.

      I wish I could help more, but I am like you. I was looking for a solution and tried to clarify a solution that worked for my wife’s iPhone. Unfortunately, I cannot guarantee that it will work for anyone else now that time has passed or if you are trying it under different conditions.

      RC

  4. Eric says:

    OK I beat my head against the wall 6 ways of Sunday, but I figured it out. I got MMS on my 3G phone. I went to straight talk and got their APN setting, here is the snag under data and internet tethering you will see the APN box that needs to be populated with tfdata. so, Do the sim swap use tfdata for all APN boxes and use straight talks APN settings. it worked for me.
    APN: tfdata
    MMSC: http://mms-tf.net
    MMS proxy: mms3.tracfone.com

Leave a Reply

